Meet Your Hosts

Forum Manager

Hi! My name is Beth, and I'm a home childcare provider from Massachusetts. I have been married since 1982, and we have 2 wonderful sons. Although I taught preschool and kindergarten before my first son was born in '88, I have decided to remain self-employed, because I really love it! I feel that home childcare providers can be wonderful first teachers for children. Childcare and Beyond is a terrific place to meet and share ideas with all kinds of people who share their love of children. I'm so glad to be a part of this special family, and hope you feel that way too!

Ruth Pic

Hey there... I'm Ruth, a home childcare provider in Mississauga Ontario. I married my college sweetheart in 1983. We have one beautiful daughter who is definitely the apple of my eye. Our home is a mini zoo because of her love for animals (and mine!). We have a hamster, a cat, a rabbit, and a beta fish. My hobbies are swimming and web design... I love creating things on the computer!

"The past steps on the present whether we want it to or not."

Janet Pic

Assistant Manager

Hi, I would like to introduce name is Janet I am a retired provider. I provided care in both center and home based venues for a total of 26 years. My background is in Elementary Education and I have a Masters Degree in Urban Education from Fordham University. I have been married for the last 27 years to James and he was my assistant since the inception of the Family Daycare and was my first full time assistant in the Group Family Daycare. We are the proud parents of identical twin sons, Russell and Trevor who are college graduates. Before my retirement our business Village Green Play-Care, Inc. was the oldest Licensed Daycare Entity in our town. I am located in upstate New York between Albany and Saratoga Springs. In the past I served on the Board of Directors of the Family Day Care Association of New York State, and the Capital District Family Day Care Association. My experience on the computer and the internet is not so old though, I have been surfing the web for six years and have earned several nicknames. I am Lucy (AKA Van Pelt), Dr. Doolittle, and The Virtual Chiropractor. They have come about by virtue of my constant need to give others little adjustments in order for them to maintain their sanity and to help them practice good business skills. I now spend my days providing academic intervention services for children in need of extra more intense instruction, substitute teaching and tutoring in my home. I hope you find this forum informative and a place you will bookmark and come to often.....I leave you with my favorite quote of late.....

"Never underestimate the ability of a small, dedicated group to people to change the world: indeed, it's the only thing that ever has."

Jeanette Pic
Assistant Manager

Hello, My name is Jeanette Kelly, I am a childcare provider in Pleasanton Calif. I have been a provider for 8 years.
I was born and raised in San Jose, Calif. I attended college for two yrs. I am married and the mother of three children that are grown. I have 7 grandchildren. I was a stay at home mom, I feel very fortunate that I was able to do this.
I decided to do childcare to keep myself busy, and picked something that I really loved, and that was children. I take care of children from infants to 5yrs. I love my profession, and have never regreated my choice.

Carlyn Pic
Assistant Manager

My name is Carlyn; I live in Adelaide, South Australia, Australia. Iím a home day care provider and have been since 1983. I care for children from as young as 2 months and up to 13 years old. I work from Monday to Friday from 6am to 6pm on most days. And also do over-night care on Thursday and Friday nights. I met my husband (Ken) in 1962 and we married in 1966, we also have a son (Craig). They both support me in my chosen profession. My hobbies are knitting, crocheting, tapestry and reading. We also like going out for coffee and cake on Sundays as a way of relaxing for the start of yet another week and reading the posts and posting on Childcare and Beyond.

"Many people will walk in and out of your life. Only true friends will leave footprints in your heart"

Carol Pic
Assistant Manager

I have been married to Tim since 1978.We have 2 children that are grown and own their own.Amy 22 is a RN and works in a Nursing Home.Bob 18 just graduated from high school this year so as of 2002 Tim and I are on our own around this house for the first time in YEARS! Empty nest is not good but we are finding things to do and we are finding that it isn't as bad as we thought it was going to be.

I began doing Childcare in our home a few months after we were married. We had decided I would not work as we were rasing our children..well I couldn't do that I needed to feel that I was helping in the financial dept. So began my daycare home.I had always babysat as a young girl my sisters are 7 and 8 years younger than me so I really started out with them.Then did babysitting for neighbors so you could say DAYCARE is my life.

My Hobbies are sufing and looking at daycare set ups.I love the forums Delphi offers. I just thank the lord the day I found CC&B and all the great ladies here.It is so great to come here and get advise and vent about some of the problems we as providers deal with.This forum is great because you can share anything and feel like you will be honored with good responses!

I do some Creative Memory Albums ..I am working on My Sons right now.I have plans of doing a daycare one sometime soon also.

Assistant Manager

I started my child care when my oldest daughter was turning two years old. Because of medical issues with my daughter I knew I would not be able to work traditional hours and schedules. That was over 33 years ago. I have continued to be Child Care providers through these many years and raise my family while doing it. I have two daughters which are now grown and are ages 34 and 27. Today I am a grandmother of two.

I have a large capacity child care license which allows me up to 14 children. My assistant is my Husband Ed. We work great together and take separate vacations. J

It is my constant goal to provide quality child care at the best of my ability. Recently I returned to College to get my ECE units. I am 53 years old and hope to continue my child care for another 13-15 years.

Assistant Manager

Hi I'm Terri- I live in BC Canada and have been caring for children for over 20 years. I have three kids (well two adults and one kid!) of my own and a terrific hubby! I love to photograph nature and write goofy poetry.

Copyright © Childcare and Beyond

Click here to visit the Childcare and Beyond Website

Some graphics provided by Cute Colors